PBA D-League Draft results: AMA selects Jeron Teng with first pick

Jeron Teng will be the new king of the Titans after AMA Online Education made him the first overall selection in the 2016 PBA D-League Draft on Tuesday at PBA Cafe in Metrowalk, Pasig City.

The 6-foot-2 La Salle stud will be counted on to lead the Titans to new heights as they seek to make the semifinals for the first time in their franchise history.

“Actually si Jeron Teng, pag pumasok sa team yan may improvement agad yung team,” said coach Mark Herrera. “Kailangan ng team namin yan ngayon kasi bata pa kami. Ngayon, wala kaming foreigner so sa kanya kami nag-buibuild. Napakalaking morale boost ito sa amin.”

Tanduay had the biggest surprises of the draft, nabbing Letran big man Jom Sollano second overall.

Racal made unheralded forward Jonjon Gabriel of Colegio de San Lorenzo as the third overall pick, followed by Cafe France nabbing CEU standout Patrick Aquino at fourth, and Wangs Basketball taking Ateneo center G-boy Babilonia at five.

Victoria Sports-MLQU got Jayson Grimaldo at sixth, Cignal-San Beda took Davon Potts at seventh, ans Batangas selected homegrown Wilmar Anderson to end the first round.

Much to the surprise of everyone, Fil-Am guard Jason Brickman fell to the laps of Tanduay in the fourth round.

School-based squads Cafe France-CEU, Cignal-San Beda, and Victoria Sports-MLQU had to select their varsity players first before getting their hands in the draft pool.

The draft went on to the 18th round, where Batangas completed their roster full of native Batangueño ballers.

Jose Rizal University and guest team Blustar Malaysia did not to participate in the proceedings as they already have their complete lineups locked.

The 2017 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup kicks off on January 19 next year at Ynares Sports Arena.

Here’s the complete list of rookies drafted in the proceedings:

First Round:

1. AMA: Jeron Teng (DLSU)
2. Tanduay: Jom Sollano (Letran)
3. Racal: Junjun Gabriel (San Lorenzo)
4. Cafe France: Patrick Aquino (CEU)
5. Wangs: G-Boy Babilonia (Ateneo)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Jayson Grimaldo (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Davon Potts (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Wilmar Anderson (UB)

Second Round:

1. AMA: Jeepy Faundo (UST)
2. Tanduay: Monbert Arong (FEU)
3. Racal: Jerrick Balanza (Letran)
4. Cafe France: Mishaal Veron (CEU)
5. Wangs: Justin Arana (UST)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Nikko Lao (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Robert Bolick (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Jon Macasaet (UST)

Third Round:

1. AMA: Mario Bonleon (UST)
2. Tanduay: Paul Varilla (UE)
3. Racal: Mac Tallo (SWU)
4. Cafe France: Orlan Wamar (CEU)
5. Wangs: Chris Lalata (St. Francis)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Jaymark Mallari (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: AC Soberano (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Chris Dela Pena (Letran)

Fourth Round:

1. AMA: Renz Palma (UE)
2. Tanduay: Jason Brickman (Long Island)
3. Racal: Daryl Singontiko (Perpetual)
4. Cafe France: Alvin Capobres (San Sebastian)
5. Wangs: Michael Ayonayon (Sienna College)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Juan Baliday (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Calvin Oftana (SBC)
8. Batangas: Thomas de Guzman (Sacramento State)

Fifth Round:

1. AMA: PJ Barua (La Salle)
2. Tanduay: Andreas Cahilig (Amang Rodriguez)
3. Racal: Jon Sheriff (UST)
4. Cafe France: Allyn Bulanadi (San Sebastian)
5. Wangs: Ervin Lacsamana (St. Francis)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Gianne Rivera (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: John Bahio (San Beda)
8. Batangas picks JR Yasa (PCU)

Sixth Round:

1. AMA: Sabah Cox (CDO College)
2. Racal: AJ Coronel (Perpetual)
3. Cafe France: Justin Mercado (San Sebastian)
4. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Justine Padua (MLQU)
5. Cignal-San Beda: Joe Presbitero (San Beda)
6. Batangas: Lucky Mangabang (UB)

Seventh Round:

1. AMA: Jason Riley (Marian U)
2. Racal: Thomas Torres (La Salle)
3. Cafe France: Caesar Ortega (USC)
4. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Allan Dela Cruz (MLQU)
5. Cignal-San Beda: Kenneth Alas (San Beda)
6. Batangas: Mark Carongoy (San Lorenzo)

Eighth Round:

1. AMA: Kim Pojol (Corson HS)
2. Racal: Regie Basibas (UST)
3. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Alexander Unsay (MLQU)
4. Cignal-San Beda picks Kyle Carlos (San Beda)
5. Batangas picks Greco Magbuhos (Lyceum)

Ninth Round:

1. AMA: Matthew Bernarbe (Letran)
2. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Miguel Plata (Manila)
3. Cignal-San Beda: Krenz Carlos (NSW)
4. Batangas: Justin Ada (LPU-Laguna)

10th Round:

1. AMA: Jay-Ar Gaco (Arellano)
2. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Harold Butron (Adamson)
3. Batangas: Earvin Mendoza (St. Clare-Caloocan)

11th Round:

1. Victoria-MLQU: Yankie Haruna (St. Benilde)
2. Batangas: Benhur Lascano (De Ocampo-Memorial)

12th Round:

1. Victoria-MLQU: Marvin Lee (UST)
2. Batangas: Kiervin Revadavia (St. Vincent)

13th Round:

1. Batangas: Cedric De Joya (UB)

14th Round:

1. Batangas: Don Carlo Fortu (UP-Batangas)

15th Round:

1. Batangas: Raymond Inciong (BSU)

16th Round:

1. Batangas: Jose Mari Bautista (Lyceum)

17th Round:

1. Batangas: Mark Cailao (LPU-Laguna)

18th Round:

1. Batangas: Dahrrel Caranguian (De Ocampo Memorial)


Photo from PBA Media Bureau

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: